PDA

View Full Version : Lens for Landscape in Alaska

corgan4321
29-Mar-2010, 13:43
I'm traveling to Alaska this summer and want a wide angle lens for 4x5 landscape work. So far, all I have is a 150/256 beautiful Schneider convertible lens from the 70's. It's super sharp even opened up and has been great for portraiture and some still life/nature shots. I now want a good lens for landscape work.

I'm a student and I can't spend too much on the lens which brought me to the 6.8 90mm Schneiders that can be found for under $150.00. However, the lack of movement and lack of coverage with that lens scares me. So far, I shoot almost exclusively B&W but I'm hoping to get into color soon. Im relatively new to the LF thign but I've been looking around and reading this forum constantly looking for other lenses.

The Rodenstock Grandagons seem awesome but they are kind of expensive. Same deal with the SA 90mm 5.6 lens.

I don't really want to deal with a f/8 lens just because if I want to shoot at night in Alaska with the wide angle, I'll be out of luck.

So, please, any suggestions, corrections, thoughts, opinions would be MUCH appreciated.

Heroique
29-Mar-2010, 14:39
When I was last in Alaska, I reached for my 240 more often than my 110 – and that surprised me. Your landscape interests & travel plans may be different than mine, but you may quickly discover just how useful the long end of your convertible lens will be.

If I could do it again, I’d consider exchanging my 110/240 travel kit for a 180/300 kit! That’s just how my eye worked on lonely, unimproved roads in Alaska. Below is one example from the “Trains” thread. Many times I came across middle-distance landscape details – like these abandoned tracks – w/ mountains serving as a back-drop. A “near-far” shot of a different sort.

Have a great time – and look forward to seeing your photos when you return!

(And remember that GND filter. ;) )

Tachi 4x5
Fuji A 240mm/9
Old Fuji Pro 160s
Epson 4990/Epson Scan

Eric James