PDA

View Full Version : Sinar 8x10 rear standard

urs0polar
28-Mar-2010, 19:11
Hi,

Just got an 8x10 P2 off of the auction site, and I'm new to Sinar. The "fine focusing knob with the depth of field scale" on the rear standard says 4x5 on the depth of field scale ring.

Is that normal, or did I not get an 8x10 rear standard, even though I have the 8x10 back and rear frame?

Any help appreciated, and I can post pictures just let me know

Thanks, this forum is great.

-Mark

Dirk Rösler
28-Mar-2010, 20:02
The Sinar System catalogue explains the Special Bearer P2 as "Reinforced lower portion of the rear stan- dard of the Sinar p2 with shift mechanisms, asymmetrical swing and tilt capabilities, greater shifting displacements and a depth of field scale for the 8x10′′/20x25 cm format."

So it should have a 8x10 scale. Also the horizontal portion of T shaped bearer should be wider than the normal bearer.

Have a look at p. 21 of this PDF, item 433.52

http://www.matrix.cz/profifoto/PDFS/Sinar_system_katalog.pdf

However: the standard bearer is also usable for 8x10, so I think it is fine to say that this was a P2 8x10. "Carrier Frames 4x5′′/10x12.5 cm, 5x7′′/13x18 cm or 8x10′′/20x25 cm (433.26/.27/.58) can be mounted on this bearer. Special Bearer p2 433.52 is recommended when the 8x10′′/20x25 cm format is used frequently."

urs0polar
28-Mar-2010, 20:08
... and the front standard, when shift is zeroed to 8x10, has no left shift as the knob is in the way.

So it appears that I have a 4x5 P2 with an 8x10 rear frame and 8x10 ground glass back. I guess I've been scammed.

An 8x10 P2 sold as such should have the special 8x10 standards that allow full movement, right? I'm new to Sinar, so I'm learning as I go...

Any help is appreciated, thanks

Dirk Rösler
28-Mar-2010, 20:14
See recent amendment to my post… your rear bearer is usable for 8x10.