PDA

View Full Version : Shen-Hao 6x17 Camera Reviews?

Larry McNeil
27-Mar-2010, 18:52
Greetings fellow photographers,

I'm new to this forum, although I've been a photographer for quite some time. I am taken by the idea of shooting 6x17 for an upcoming project that will involve a lot of cityscape kind of stuff, some at mid-to close range with people in them. Streets will be a major part of this, and it seems that 6x17 would be a nice choice for this.

I'm looking for something lightweight, and the Shen-Hao bellows camera seems like a good choice for the way I'll be working. I'm not that hot on the idea of adding weight and mechanics like the helical lenses or Linhof style heavy cameras.

Does anyone have experience with this bellows type 6x17 camera and back? What are its strengths and weaknesses?

Thank you very much in advance, this forum site looks great.

Larry McNeil
(My first post)

Nathan Potter
27-Mar-2010, 19:37
Can't help you with a 6X17 Shen Hao experience but city street scenes I always shot using hand held 4X5 (Crown Graphic and Linhof). But a 6X17 would certainly need a static mount so would limit the spontaneousness of operation to a considerable degree.

Welcome to this forum, lots of intense workers hereabouts. :)

Nate Potter, Austin TX.

Matt Logue
27-Mar-2010, 20:32
Hey Larry!