PDA

View Full Version : another focusing cloth question

Frank_E
26-Mar-2010, 08:06
I'm still new to LF photography
have exposed less than 2 packages of film so far (ie 25 sheets per package)
my interest is primarily landscape and I shoot with a 4x5 Nagaoka field camera

purchased a Calumet dark cloth

my question is how do others control the cloth when they are out in the field
I simply throw it over me and over the camera without fastening it to either
and it can be a pain getting in the way of the lens or blocking my view of the ground glass or simply slipping off my shoulders. I am sure others would find it funny watching me doing this dance with the cloth

I realize I could probably come up with a way of somehow temporarily attaching the cloth to the camera but that has it's own drawbacks (ie pull over the camera inadvertently if not careful etc)

what dark cloth techniques do most LF photographers use?

Oren Grad
26-Mar-2010, 08:21
I use a BTZS hood that stays where I put it, more or less:

http://www.viewcamerastore.com/default.php?cPath=99

MIke Sherck
26-Mar-2010, 08:36
Large binder clips, like you'd use to hold a stack of paper together.

Mike

Mark Stahlke
26-Mar-2010, 08:59
I like the Blackjacket. (http://www.quietworks.com/frames_files/BJ_SPECIFICATIONS/BJ_NEW_HOME_FRAME_.htm) I never leave home without it. I have two of them now.

Gem Singer
26-Mar-2010, 09:01
Purchase a smaller, lighter weight dark cloth and use velcro to fasten it to your camera.

A 4x5 Blackjacket focusing hood is a good choice.

Joanna Carter
26-Mar-2010, 09:13
Light & Land do a great darkcloth (http://www.lightandland.co.uk/article.aspx?articleId=326&typeId=2&conId=8).

Brian Ellis
26-Mar-2010, 09:25