PDA

View Full Version : Big lens help!

Paramount bokeh
12-Mar-2010, 04:43
Hi all... I am quite new to the LF scene, and am slowly (very slowly!) getting the kit together for studio portraits.

I bought Ken's 300mm Heliar, and have a 19 in Goerz Artar.

I was pretty much coming round to the idea of a Sinar 10x8 with copal shutter... however, during my trawling of ebay, I came across an old auction of a guy selling a Color-Kardan - in his description, he put that the Sinar will not allow you to use big lenses (I am ONLY going to shoot in the studio - and was eventually planning to go as big as 24" lens for close ups)....

He stated that a Packard shutter is the only way to go for these big lenses.

Please can somebody give me the benefit of their experience and recommendations: as i mentioned, my needs are 8x10, portraits, studio only.

Many thanks all

Paramount bokeh
12-Mar-2010, 09:57
Anybody?

fuegocito
12-Mar-2010, 10:15
I have mounted all sort of big-ish lens (Heliar 360mm, 16" Artar, and 760mm Apo Nikkor) in front of the Sinar shutter set up with no problem, not too sure what the other seller was referring to.

Jack Dahlgren
12-Mar-2010, 10:22
I don't know what determines what is a "big" lens and what the shutter type has anything to do with it.

What I do know is that the physical limitations of the camera are likely to be.

1) Maximum distance of lens board from film plane. It needs to be about as long as the focal length is you are going to use the lens at infinity. So if you are using a 19 inch lens you need a camera at least 19 inches long (there are lens designs which can change this, but it is generally true). To get closer to a subject, you extend the lens out further, so this is a MINIMUM especially if you are doing portraits in a studio.