PDA

View Full Version : Film processing in a small apartment

harlekin
5-Mar-2010, 08:52
I am fairly new to LF, but I am considering trying out some processing. I live in a fairly small apartment and have nowhere to put a real darkroom. I think I might be able to do well with a daylight processing tank, which I could load in the bathroom and then move to the kitchen to do the processing.

Does this sound like a workable plan? I'm curious as to what sort of tank would be best for me. The Combiplan is easy enough to find, but there are a huge assortment of rotary type tanks on ebay for fairly cheap. I have my eye on an old Color by Beseler set with the motor base and a pair of tanks. Would these be suitable for my purposes? There are plenty of Jobo tanks floating around too. Unless I get lucky and find one of the small Jobo processors for cheap, I'd probably have to float the Jobo.

I plan to process mostly 4x5, but possibly some medium format in the future. I'm considering getting an enlarger and trying to do some printing (though the size of 4x5 enlargers looks problematic), so that might be a future concern.

BetterSense
5-Mar-2010, 08:57
I live in a 700sqft apartment with woman and all her possessions. My darkroom is a walk-in closet. I process on the shelf in there in trays and in open tanks and hangers. When we lived in a 500sqft apartment, I did it in the bathroom. I've never tried daylight tanks but they sound like more trouble than they are worth.

Paul Kierstead
5-Mar-2010, 09:03
For just film processing, a daylight tank and a changing tent will allow you to process film in just about any space without difficulty.

Enlarging is a different beast, especially with larger formats. You could consider going 8x10 and contact printing :)

harlekin
5-Mar-2010, 09:11