PDA

View Full Version : Need some help with 120mm

dalton
24-Feb-2010, 15:50
I've been shooting 4x5 for about two years, mostly with a 150mm lens and occasionally a 210. I primarily shoot landscapes, in color.

I have been looking to add a wider lens to my kit, so I just bought a 90mm Fujinon SW. It looks like a great lens, but now I am starting to think that 90mm is too wide. 120mm would probably be a better fit.

Does anyone have a recommendation for a good 120mm lens? There are tons of options and information for 90mm lenses but not as much for 120. I've been searching through the archives but I am getting different answers depending on the thread.

Something lightweight would be nice, and sharp is a must. I plan on eventually blowing these images up to 40x50 some day if I can. I don't need a ton of movements but some rise, fall and tilt would be useful. My budget is somewhere around $400 although I could go a bit higher if I had to.

Right now the two lenses at KEH that seem like they might fit my needs are the 120 F5.6 Symmar-S and the 120 APO Symmar. I'm having trouble digging up specific information about either. Can anyone help?

By the way, a link to a few photos just to give an idea of the kind of things I like to shoot:
http://daltonrooney.com/photographs/tibidabo/

Thanks for any advice you might have.
Dalton

Gem Singer
24-Feb-2010, 17:32
Nikon/Nikkor f8 120SW.

Keh has one listed on their website.

Large lens. Mounted in a Copal 0 shutter. Weighs 1.34 lbs. Takes a 77mm screw-in filter, but will cover 8x10, if necessary.

Great lens.

J. Gilbert Plantinga
24-Feb-2010, 17:47
What Gem says. But if you could swing more $$ the Super Symmar 110 would really rock. Your work is really worth it, and it looks like your on your way with Humble Arts, Daniel Cooney et al.

Warren Clark
24-Feb-2010, 17:58
Hi Dalton,

I have used a Schneider 120/5.6 SS HM for several years and it is a great
lens-- also occasionally use a Schneider 120 Apo Symmar for light weight