PDA

View Full Version : Tank or Trays?

southy
19-Feb-2010, 19:22
I have accumulated a random assotment of 4x5 equipment (http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?p=561023#post561023)
and I am trying to just start in 4x5 format.

I have developed 35mm and 120mm film, but I am by no means an expert, or even consistent (Probably less than 20 rolls total). I stick to black and white, because it is part of the fun for me, and I'm hesitant to try color, especially with the cost per shot of LF.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2725/4371196641_9c4fa7e715.jpg

I have a jobo 2521, 2523 and yankee 4x5 film developers. I also have an assortment of darkroom trays, though none small enough to fit 4x5's without a lot of movement. I feel like I already loose track of paper in 8x10's with the safelight on.

What is an easier method to start developing 4x5's? Should I stick with trays and do one sheet at a time? or are the jobo's or yankees better? I might have a motorized base, but it is a beseler and not a jobo. I would rather do inversion with the jobo or the yankee. Is this practical or is it just a waste of chemicals?

Thanks!
-Southy

Brian Schall
19-Feb-2010, 19:41
I, too, am no expert but I would go with the JOBO drums over anything else you have. I had the 2521 tank but never got around to trying it. Inversion should work just fine with it. I sold the 2521 outfit off to pay for a 2006 Expert drum. I do have a couple of FR tanks that are similar to the Yankee. They are enough to make you stop shooting 4x5. I also use the Combi-Tank system. I've had good results with them. I have 3 sets and use them as a dip-and-dunk system.

Go withthe JOBOs and give them a try, definitely the best option that you own.

southy
19-Feb-2010, 20:11
Do Jobo rollers roll in one direction? I have a uniroller, that when I put the two jobo's magnet to magnet with a piece of plastic in between as a spacer, can roll the tanks freely. Do I risk over agitating if I do it this way?