PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice on View Camera Movements

JWaldinger
17-Feb-2010, 10:05
Hey everyone,

I am new to LF and new to this forum! I am still understanding when to use certain movements such as front/rear swing, tilt etc. I took this shot yesterday, It is literally my first 4x5 chrome shot on provia 100f at f/32. When I got the slide back I noticed that the pilars (highlighted in white) were not in total focus. After going online to find out the effects that certain movements had, I thought that this particular composition would call for a front swing movement to get the desired focus to be perfect. Is this a correct assumption? I would not want to alter the composition as it stands now, and if I were to do a front swing, would I focus on the pilars and stop down or focus on the power plant as I had done in this photo?

thanks in advance.

-j

Robert Hughes
17-Feb-2010, 10:35
Greetings, j, and welcome to the view camera world. As you say, I would give it a bit of tilt/swing to put the foreground into focus. Have you read through the articles on the LFPhoto home page (http://www.largeformatphotography.info/)? I found these to be excellent sources of information.

Kirk Gittings
17-Feb-2010, 11:27
J,
Glad you made it here. I hope you get some help. I don't have the time to comment much right now but just note that most T/S with a VC are really small adjustments.

Kirk Gittings
17-Feb-2010, 13:16
Greetings, j, and welcome to the view camera world. As you say, I would give it a bit of tilt/swing to put the foreground into focus. Have you read through the articles on the LFPhoto home page (http://www.largeformatphotography.info/)? I found these to be excellent sources of information.

Slight tilt forward of the front standard to put the foreground in focus (tilt the back and you will disturb the leveling) and very slight swing of the back counter clockwise?

JWaldinger
17-Feb-2010, 13:43