PDA

View Full Version : kodak no. 34 lens

anthony marsh
6-Feb-2010, 10:13
I need information about a kodak lens.It's a no.34 anastigmat 4.5 8 1/2 inch in a brass barrel.The front is black,the rear is brass and has a diagonal slot with a peg.I think the length is for 4x5.Does the lens have any value,is it usable and what kind of camera would it be used with?

Dan Fromm
6-Feb-2010, 10:53
A little.

Yes.

Up to 5x7, but since it is in barrel, not shutter, the camera will have to provide the shutter or it will have to be front-mounted.

anthony marsh
6-Feb-2010, 12:00
Thanks Dan.I'm new to large format.What is front mounted?Tony

Dan Fromm
6-Feb-2010, 12:15
Front mounting? Hanging a lens in barrel in front of a shutter, usually a leaf shutter although some curtain (not focal plane) shutters, e.g., Thornton Pickard, are also used for front-mounting. Often requires an adapter.

Anthony, if you want to sell it, take a look at completed auctions on eBay to see how much others sold for. You might not find any, but looking is cheap. Offer it on eBay, and then you'll find out. Condition is very important.

anthony marsh
6-Feb-2010, 12:37
Thanks again Dan,I don't want to sell it I wanted to know if it is worthwhile to use it,also how to use it.What kind of camera can it be used with?Tony

Oren Grad
6-Feb-2010, 12:51
Tony - if it's clean, it's definitely usable. The easiest way is with a camera like a Graflex or a Speed Graphic that comes with its own focal plane shutter. Other possibilities include using it as a barrel lens for long exposures that you control by just uncapping and capping the lens, or mounting it to a shutter.