PDA

View Full Version : Schneider lens adapter for DSLR.. Please Help!!

Capitan Krayola
28-Jan-2010, 03:05
Hi, I'm really a noob when it comes to large format photography, but i inherited a Horseman 4x5 and a couple of Schneider lenses and I was wondering if there was a way to use those lenses with my DSLR with an adapter or something. Some help please. Thanks.

Steve Hamley
28-Jan-2010, 04:23
Maybe. They can be adapted with the correct spacing and a helical focusing mount (think thousands of dollars) IF your camera doesn't think it has to communicate with the shutter.

Why not just buy a $50 box of film and use the Horseman? You might like it.

Good luck, Steve

Tony Lakin
28-Jan-2010, 05:31
Hi, I'm really a noob when it comes to large format photography, but i inherited a Horseman 4x5 and a couple of Schneider lenses and I was wondering if there was a way to use those lenses with my DSLR with an adapter or something. Some help please. Thanks.

There is an adapter available which allows some (Nikon for sure) SLR,s or DSLR,s to be fitted to Horseman/Sinar cameras, check Ebay, they are making them in the Far East.

Good luck

Capitan Krayola
28-Jan-2010, 05:57
Thanks guys. Well if I had a good tripod i would definetly use the Horseman but i don't. I hope i can get a tripod soon but i would also like to use the lenses with the DSLR, they're in a really good condition. Thanks guys and I'll check the adapters on ebay.

Joanna Carter
28-Jan-2010, 06:12
Thanks guys. Well if I had a good tripod i would definetly use the Horseman but i don't. I hope i can get a tripod soon but i would also like to use the lenses with the DSLR, they're in a really good condition. Thanks guys and I'll check the adapters on ebay.
The adapters mentioned are only adapters that allow you to mount the DSLR on the back of a 4x5 camera - you will still need the tripod to support the 4x5 camera with your camera attached.