PDA

View Full Version : Which Camera for this Lens?

Richard K.
22-Jan-2010, 13:30
I asked the fellow running the auction for this item:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230427307078&ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:US:1123

if a flange was included with this lens. His answer was:

"This lens is threaded to screw into the camera. I'm not an expert but the glass appears perfect."

Is that correct, there were actual dedicated cameras to some lenses back then?

An auxiliary question: did the older brass lenses come with caps? Were they leather or brass?

Steven Tribe
22-Jan-2010, 15:37
His basic data is OK, but, of course, there was a lens flange. There is a B. French & Co catalogue link which has posted here a month or so ago which I am sure will have this quite well known wide angle. These 3 link apertures are very popular as collectors items. It is a standard rapid rectilinear/aplanat design and nothing to do with the earlier optical design of the "Globe" in spite of the name. The very early objectives like pill box simple achromatics often/always had beautifully turned and finished brass caps. They are even more absent than flanges and aperture stops now. Leather caps were very popular for a long time and are often works of art too, with velvet inside.

Richard K.
22-Jan-2010, 18:20
Thanks for your excellent answer, Steven. I'm just beginning my brass adventure and appreciate your input.

Andrew
23-Jan-2010, 02:12
I think the thing to say would be....
the lens would have had a dedicated flange and that dedicated flange could then be mounted onto pretty much any lens board/ camera

the problem follows when the lens is seperated from its mounting flange because there was little idea of standardisation back then and it's difficult to find a flange for a lens that's now without one

if you were to purchase one or more brass lenses without flanges [as I did, and you amost certainly will] you'll be scratching your head for ways to mount them onto a camera