PDA

View Full Version : using a zone chart to determine PEI

Tim Meisburger
17-Jan-2010, 21:30
I was recently reading a description of the process for determining personal exposure index for various film. It seemed complicated, and I wondered why I could not merely do this:

- meter zone five on a zone card and set the appropriate exposure using the film's standard ASA
- photograph the zone card
- process normally

Then, if zone five was the center of the spectrum, you would assume your PEI matched the film rating. If zone five was shifted one or two stops in either direction, you would re-rate the film accordingly.

I don't know much about this sort of thing, so I'm sure its not that simple, but I cannot figure out why...

pocketfulladoubles
18-Jan-2010, 14:00
Sounds reasonable, but like you, I'm a novice. I'm not sure what type of film you are using, but what I've found in my unscientific try-it-and-let's-see approach is that you don't necessarily get the same # of zones above and below 5. For that reason, I sometimes bias my exposure down so as not to overexpose the brighter parts and lose color.

ic-racer
18-Jan-2010, 14:54
If PEI means Personal Exposure Index, then it is simple.

Photograph a uniform target with an exposure that places it at zone I using a guess at exposure index.

Process the film. If the density on the film is 0.1 d ( 1/3 of a stop ) then your guess was correct. You can use a densitometer or place the film over you exposure meter and look for a 1/3 stop drop of the needle. (If you have a densitometer, look for a density of 0.1 log d).

Bruce Watson
18-Jan-2010, 15:07
I was recently reading a description of the process for determining personal exposure index for various film. It seemed complicated, and I wondered why I could not merely do this:

- meter zone five on a zone card and set the appropriate exposure using the film's standard ASA
- process normally