PDA

View Full Version : Schneider 0r Rodenstock

lilmsmaggie
14-Jan-2010, 15:44
I'm getting close to purchasing my first LF (4 x 5) camera. My interests will be architectural and landscape. I suppose you could say I fall within "buy the best glass you can afford" camp.

Even though I have no LF experience from which to draw, my experience with astronomical instruments tend to lead me towards Schneider's reputation for quality glass. I realize that this is one of those areas that falls within "personal tastes," but I'd be interested comments and experiences from those that have used both Schneider and Rodenstocks lenses.

For my first lens, I'll be choosing the 150mm focal length.

So now the decision becomes which 150mm lens:

Rodenstock APO-Sironar-S 150mm/5.6

Schneider APO-Symmar-L 150mm/5.6

Dan Fromm
14-Jan-2010, 15:55
As the man who was offered the choice of being put to death by two very different and unpleasant ways said, they are both very bad. There are no rational grounds for choice. The best you can do is buy six or so of each, test all, and return all but the one that pleases you most.

Eric Brody
14-Jan-2010, 15:57
I'm sure someone will pipe in here with reasons for one or the other but I'd argue that neither you nor anyone else will see any differences in the final prints. I'd go with the least expensive or, if used, best condition for the price. The 150 is a good choice for a first lens, though I started with a 210, whatever works for you. The only thing I'd counsel against is rushing to get more lenses before you've had a chance to learn LF and learn your first lens. I had only the 210 for a couple of years as my only glass and I think I learned a lot.

Good luck.

Eric

Steve Hamley
14-Jan-2010, 16:24