PDA

View Full Version : NEW TO LF: need advice on what would be a good startup gear

LFLONDON
14-Jan-2010, 00:33
Hi LF

I am a complete novice to his and need to set up gear so I can start shooting.
And advice pls?
I have been considering Crown Graphic as a possible option. I will be shooting urban and natural landscape and environmental portraits mostly outdoor.

Many Thanks

Brij

Vaughn
14-Jan-2010, 02:46
Fine cameras, and there is an English equivilent, I believe. Find a good one for a good price, and you can eventually sell it with little or no loss if/when you decide to move to a camera that better fits the way you are using the format.

But the Crown (and Speed) Graphic seems to be a fine camera for urban photography -- comes in its own case, can be hand held, and not reconized by your average thief as being something worth stealing (maybe ;) ). They usually come with a fold-out viewing hood -- so you won't have to be under a darkcloth in a area of town where someone under a black cloth is usually dead.

The lenses that usually come with the cameras are good quality if not abused. usually anything from 127mm to 150mm. The one deciding point on a lens is how well the shutter is working and not sluggish at the very slow speeds. You can send the lens off to be cleaned and adjusted, but nothing beats a dependable lens/shutter. One less thing to worry about when looking for images.

Film holders can be found used, for about $5 here in the States. There a lot of possibilities -- all depends on your budget and how your photography is shaped by the format. If you end up using a 4x5 camera more for natural landscape, you might go towards a folding wood field camera, for example -- or a rail camera if you tend towards portraits and/or never get far from home or the car.

Good luck and have fun!

Vaughn

Tim Meisburger
14-Jan-2010, 02:52
Hi Brij,