PDA

View Full Version : film brands

mcguireek
13-Jan-2010, 21:01
I am brand new to 4x5 photo and I am looking to buy some B&W film. I have noticed a large difference in price between name brands (kodak, etc.) and some other brands I have never heard of (foma, adox, arista, etc.). Is there a difference between them or am I paying for a name?
I also saw some ortho litho film that seemed to be even cheaper. Do you use the same b&w chemicals to develop it? what is the picture quality like?

BetterSense
13-Jan-2010, 22:11
You are paying for a name to some extent, but you are paying for more than that as well. Kodak and Illford have the advantage that their films are very very consistent and very very high quality. There is also the bandwagon effect--nobody will fault you for using them because they are the standbys. You do not have to worry about using Kodak or Illford, basically; you could be a professional photographer shooting a once-in-a-lifetime event and use these films and be assured that you will have no problems. And is there any subject that isn't once-in-a-lifetime?

I've used Foma and Arista films and they are technically poorer quality in that they have low speed for their grain level and other refinements (such as good reciprocity failure) are missing. They also have merely good, although not impeccable quality control (I have had emulsion defects in Foma, for example). If you are going to shoot two sheets of an important subject (just to be safe), well are you really saving money at that point? That said I shoot Arista EDU Ultra film, it is very nice looking film and the price is nice. But you are getting, as far as technical specifications, more of a 1940s era film rather than a 2009 era film. Kodak TMY has less grain than most 100 speed films, yet needs 1/4 the amount of light for exposure. The research that lead to the miracle of these modern films is what you are paying for when you buy Kodak or Illford.

mikebarger
14-Jan-2010, 03:35