PDA

View Full Version : Wollensak 135mm optar lens question

mcguireek
11-Jan-2010, 21:47
I am brand new to large format and I have a Wollensak 135mm optar lens without a shutter release cable. Is there a certain type (thread pattern, size, etc.) that I need for this particular lens? I am a pure beginner, so specifics would be great.
thanks for your help

Mark Sampson
12-Jan-2010, 05:44
Any standard cable release will work. Most of those lenses came in a Wollensak "Alphax" shutter; I'll assume that that's what you have. (Some larger sized shutters require a long-throw cable release from Gepe.)

Dan Fromm
12-Jan-2010, 06:44
Mark, the Alphax is a press shutter, usually large.

Optar isn't a Wolly trade name, it is a Graflex trade name usually appled to lenses made by Wollensak. Optars were usually delivered in Graphex (a Graflex trade name) shutters. Graphex shutters are cock-and-shoot, are rebadged Wollensak Rapax shutters. Very different from Alphaxes.

Ivan J. Eberle
12-Jan-2010, 07:45
I think the Wollensak Optars/Raptars 135mms are terrific but for some reason they tend to get a bum rap around here.

Hundreds of thousands of these lenses were sold are many are still in circulation-- they couldn't have all have been dogs! They were standard equipment on Crown and Speed Graphics, and in slightly different badging, graced innumerable Busch Pressmans and Meridians and other cameras of the 40's and 50's.

In fact, both of my Meridians came sporting Raptar/Rapax versions. (Including a rare prototype camera.)