PDA

View Full Version : New guy question about instant film

Mike Anderson
11-Jan-2010, 20:33
Hi,

I'm brand new to LF, my camera (Calumet CC-402 4x5) hasn't even arrived yet. I want to start learning LF with instant film. Browsing around these forums, it seems like the only instant 4x5 film option now is from Fuji and requires a Fuji PA-45 holder. Is this true? Is there any other way to use instant film in this camera?

Another question: if anyone's familiar with that camera (also called a Calumet Wide Field Camera, I think), will that Fuji PA-45 work with it?

edit add: The camera is coming with a Polaroid 545 holder.

Thanks for any help.

...Mike

Dave Grenet
11-Jan-2010, 21:51
A Polaroid 550 holder works as well. Or a Polaroid 405 and use the 3x4 instant film...

Be careful, as your camera may or may not be able to accept such thick holders depending on whether it has the longer springs fitted to the back. If it only has the shorter ones, Calumet might still have spares they can send you of the longer ones...

Gordon Moat
11-Jan-2010, 21:56
Polaroid 405 holder, which you can often find used, and works with smaller Fuji Instant pack films. Polaroid 550 pack film holder is the larger size, and will work with Fuji Instant FP100C45. Note that the 45 after the name of the film denotes the slightly larger film pack.

Fuji make instant film holders that are basically copies of the older Polaroid holders. If you can find either Polaroid holder used, it would be much less than purchasing a new Fuji pack film holder. The larger holder for the larger 45 films is much thicker, and very tough to slide under the ground glass on a camera, and usually requires a camera on which the ground glass holder can be easily and quickly removed without tools. The smaller Fuji pack film holder, and the Polaroid 405, can often fit under the ground glass, just be careful when first attempting that.