PDA

View Full Version : Linhof 617 S III 180mm lens question

Aaron Svenby
11-Jan-2010, 13:49
Greetings all you fellow Linhof shooters.
I have the Linhof 617 S III with Schneider 180mm lens, and I am somewhat new to the large format world.
I am having difficulty understanding the depth of field for this lens....and have wasted more film than I want trying to figure it out. I think I was given wrong info on how to focus the lens.
So here is my question....
If you set the F-stop to say F22 (for this example) and you look at the depth of field preview on the lens it will tell you that you should have something like infinitely to like 40feet in focus right?
So...where would you set the actual lens focus ring to obtain infinitely to 40feet?
Do you set the focusing ring where the infinitely sign would be on the right f22 marker and the 40ft sign would line up with the left f22 marker and the center triangle in in the middle of 40ft and infinitely.
I was told that you set the focusing ring where the infinitely sign is lined up with the triangle and everything from there on back is in focus....so in that case it would be 40ft?
Would love to hear from those who are experienced with this.

darr
11-Jan-2010, 15:05
It sounds like you are talking about using the Hyperfocal Distance which is the actual Focal Distance at which Depth of Field will be a maximized for a given f-stop. I do not have a Linhof 617 and Schneider lens, but I do use a Fotoman 617 with Rodenstock lens. Using this technique is so easy!! If your lens is setup with a Helical Focus mount, then follow the following info:

Lachlan 717
11-Jan-2010, 15:44
Arron,

For a 180mm lens on 6x17cm, the hyperfocal distances are:

f5.6 - 47.2m (23.6m-Infinity)
f8 - 33.1m (19.4m-Infinity)
f11 - 24.1m (15.9m-Infinity)
f16 - 16.6m (12.2m-Infinity)
f22 - 12.2m (9.5m-Infinity)
f32 - 8.4m (7.0m-Infinity)
f45 - 6.0m (5.2m-Infinity)

Hope that these help!

Bob Salomon
11-Jan-2010, 16:33