PDA

View Full Version : Problem Attaching Lensboard to Wista VX

brent79
9-Jan-2010, 23:08
Hi all,
Bit of a newbie question here, I'm new to large format and recently bought a Wista VX 4x5. I also bought a Nikon 300mm 5.6 lens, the seller off ebay was really helpful and sensing my ignorance offered to obtain a lensboard for me and mount the lens to it, its this one:
(http://www.adorama.com/VWLB3.html?searchinfo=Tachihara+lens+board)
I just got both the camera and lens/lensboard today and am having a lot of trouble mounting the lens to the camera. I see the bottom part of the lensboard must go in first, and in order to do this I need to tilt the lens at an angle which is preventing the lensboard from being able to tilt into place on the top so I can secure it. I'm just wondering if it can be possible that the lens is too bulky to fit on the camera I have? Or if I have the wrong lensboard? Any help would be much appreciated!
Thanks in advance
Brent

Brian Ellis
9-Jan-2010, 23:38
Are you trying to install the board with it oriented the way it's pictured on the Adorama web site? If so maybe that's the problem because the board looks to me like it's upside down in the picture. I could be wrong, I no longer have any of these types of boards and camera on hand to check but I used these boards for many years on various different cameras - Linhof, Tachihara, and Ebony but not Wista - and from memory the picture sure looks upside down.

brent79
10-Jan-2010, 02:37
Hi Brian,
You are correct and I have been trying to install it upside down to how it appears in the adorama photo, no luck so far

mikec
10-Jan-2010, 02:49
I don't have this camera, but it appears from the doc at http://www.galerie-photo.com/catalogue_wista.pdf , that it has plenty of back tilt and rise in the fron standard. try rise/back tilt. It should give you the needed freedom. hope that helps.

Bob Salomon
10-Jan-2010, 03:46