PDA

View Full Version : Developing help

mcguireek
9-Jan-2010, 16:52
I have been reading about large format for months now and finally made the decision to give it a try. My problem is that I have no dark room experience and I will have a pretty tough time finding a place to develop film (I live in the middle of nowhere in SE Idaho). What is the easiest method of developing film that I could get into here at home and is it possible for me to do as a beginner and get decent results? How much would it cost roughly for supplies?

Bob Salomon
9-Jan-2010, 17:15
A larfe changing bag and our HP Combi Plan daylight developing tank system.

Maris Rusis
9-Jan-2010, 17:26
Easiest? Develop film one sheet at a time in trays. If I were starting out I would buy a small pack of Xtol, a small bottle of rapid fix, three plastic trays from the local bargain store, follow instructions and go ahead. Total spend would be about $30.

Darkroom? All properly closed up rooms are darkrooms at night. Shoot during the day, develop at night.

This is what I did for the first few years. And because I shot 8x10 film and made gelatin silver photographs by contact I didn't even need an enlarger.

percepts
9-Jan-2010, 18:22
Developing film is really very easy once you have done it a couple of times.
Since you have no darkroom I would suggest you use a daylight processing tank. The best on the market currently is the Jobo 2521 tank with a 2509N reel. This a pro level tank but is very easy to fill and empty in daylight and unlike the combi plan, doesn't leak.
A lot of people have problems with the combi plan tank so Get a jobo. However, there is one downside to the jobo and that is that it requires 50% more chemistry than the combiplan when used for inversion prcessing. From personal experience I think it is worth getting the jobo.