PDA

View Full Version : Straight or Curved

percepts
7-Jan-2010, 05:18
I'm just wondering what peoples take on film curve shape is for B+W.
I was taught that as straight as possible is desirable. But I also learnt that slightly upswept is better for poraits as it gives better separation to the highlights.
But a short toe where the curve gets straight quickly is better for shadow separation which is at odds with having an upswept curve for portraits.
So I'm just curious to know what others think. Do you use one film for landscape where you may want good shadow separation and another for portraits where you want good highlight separation or do you use just one standard film and be done with it.
Do you use different developers for different subject type to achieve a different look.

So which film / dev do you use for which subject type and why?

Stephen Willard
7-Jan-2010, 08:00
I am a color landscape photographer, and I us color negative film to photograph my subject matter. I am probably one of the few who actually builds characteristic curves. I use them to test the effects of how film ages along with comparing the difference between films. I have built CCs for b&w before as well.

I prefer straight line curves without a heal or shoulder. The color negative film I have exhibits that behavior. If the slope of the curve decreases in steepness, then the contrast is lowered on that part of the curve. If the slope of the curve increases in steepness, then the contrast increases on that part of the curve.