PDA

View Full Version : Unknown lens configuration

swmcl
3-Jan-2010, 02:05
G'Day,

So far I'm unable to determine the lens type for a lens recently acquired. I'm wondering if I may get a clue or two.

I have made a diagram of the 4 elements roughly showing their relative curvatures.

I think I can rule out a triplet design and a tessar.

It's not a symmetrical type either.

Any help much appreciated.

Cheers,

Math
3-Jan-2010, 03:51
If you'd flip it it looks a bit like an unar (http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Unar.svg\)lens.. I'm no optics expert however. Aren't there any markings on the lens?

swmcl
3-Jan-2010, 04:01
Hi,

Yes it looks a little like an unar in design but for the third element from the front.

It is an old lens in a brass barrel and it does have an aperture stop. The 4 elements are definitely in 4 groups. I am not going to get the actual glass out from their respective holders so I can't say it is only 4 elements. It might have 6 for all I know.

I wonder if it could be some sort of portrait lens design?

I wonder ...

What is the layout / design of the Visual Quality IV and Cooke PS945 ?

I wish!

Rgds,

Steven Tribe
3-Jan-2010, 04:12
Perhaps an Unar if the two rear lenses were switched? Just pre-tessar.

walter23
3-Jan-2010, 04:15
Almost looks like this "Pan-Tachar F", except for the rearmost element which is biconvex in this case:

http://dic.academic.ru/pictures/wiki/files/52/33a1399d14fdb9f9ebfcdd6fd556d025.jpg

swmcl
3-Jan-2010, 04:32
I should say that the elements are around the same diameter. If there is any difference then it would be quite small.

There is also no chance of changing the order in which the elements are placed in the barrel. There's only one way to re-asemble this one.

It looks as though I'll have to raise the reward to at least 100 jelly beans!

Rgds,

Steven Tribe
3-Jan-2010, 04:37
Perhaps a copy of the portrait Unar - without the soft focus adjustment?

swmcl
3-Jan-2010, 04:44