PDA

View Full Version : White lines around LF prints

violin
28-Jan-2002, 04:16
I have been using a Linhof Technica and a 150 Symar lens for a few months now in conjunction with Readyload 160VC Portra film. Now I have used this film in a Po laroid 545i filholder and one of the new single sided Readyload holders but with both holders I get some form of white line around the border of the image about 1 to 2mm in, and about 1mm in thickness. Is this normal?, is it processing?, or are the holders or the camera reflecting light on to the outer edges of the fil m somehow?

thanks to all.

Paul Schilliger
28-Jan-2002, 13:27
Adrian, could you specify if this appears on the negatives as well in the form o f dark lines around the frame? In this case: a light leak in the back of your camera.

violin
28-Jan-2002, 15:42
Yes, dark lines appear on negs, some more pronounced than others, all the way round in some cases.

Rob Tucher
28-Jan-2002, 18:29
If the image area is not affected and the marks are limited to the margins of the film then I can't be holder or camera back light leak. If a holder doesn't seat properly or the black cloth lightproofing around the camera's back is peeling or worn it can streak the image with light and this might extend into the margins, but this isn't happening. It sounds like light is hitting what should be behind the frame of the holder. Static discharge? Do you process yourself? Isolate and process an unexposed sheet after doing everything else the same. It's hard to say without seeing it all.

Paul Schilliger
28-Jan-2002, 19:03
It's hard to tell. I have had many light leaks on my Technika, especially with A stra film holders who have a spring loaded security pin. But the light strikes from one side, the side the film hold ers are inserted in the camera. It does not produce thin lines, but rather spread out into the frame. Do you have t he same problem with negatives loaded in regular film holders? Could be a light leak from inside the 545i.