PDA

View Full Version : Damaging a lens on purpose

John NYC
23-Dec-2009, 17:44
Alright, I can already hear it from this bunch, the cackling and funny har-hars. And that's fine, but this is actually a serious question, too.

I am new to LF (doing it a couple months and having a ball). I first bought a 210mm lens, but am finding I make most of my pictures with a 150mm and some with a 90mm. The 210 is a Rodenstock Geronar in pristine condition. At first I thought of selling it here, but it isn't worth all that much. Then I recently saw again a Sally Mann photograph and was reminded of the wabi sabi beauty of age and damage. I suppose I could look for an old damaged lens to experiment with, but I would actually spend more money on that then just beating up my 210.

So, has anyone ever done this before and have any pointers should I decide to "prematurely age" my lens as an experiment?

Jim Michael
23-Dec-2009, 17:47
Comet and steel wool?

Lachlan 717
23-Dec-2009, 17:49
Save the lens.

Get a step-up ring, a UV filter and done petroleum jelly. Or just scratch the filter
as desired.

Cheaper in the longrun because you get to keep the lens.

Bob Salomon
23-Dec-2009, 17:49
Put a skylight filter on it and try smearing thin coats of vasolene on the filter. Then clean it off the filter and try putting other things on it. No reason to destroy the lens.

John Schneider
23-Dec-2009, 17:51
Shotgun at close range.

Seriously, I'd swap you an aged Compur shutter for your pristine Copal, and even throw in an ugly Dagor cell (I call it my "Eingor").

jnantz
23-Dec-2009, 18:08
i did that with an extra lens for my pentax auto 110 -
the lens was much less expensive than the lens you have :)
but it was fun !

look for a folder and harvest the junk lens off of it ...

Bill_1856
23-Dec-2009, 18:10
You may find after you've been shooting LF a while longer, that you may gravitate towards a longer lens, so hold off with the despoiling for a while.

Frank Petronio
23-Dec-2009, 18:31