PDA

View Full Version : Spotting an RA-4 Color Print

tgtaylor
16-Dec-2009, 12:03
Hi all,

On the emulsion side of a 4x5 negative a "pin hole" size of the emulsion is missing - no hole just scrapped away either as a factory defect or due to my handling. It shows up as a tiny black dot in a - yep - white cloud. Step 3 feet away from a 16x20 print and it disappears. What is the best way to "spot" this out on:

a. The print (I printed 3- 16x20's).

b. The negative.

Also, is there a book or tutorial on spotting? I'm a complete novice in this and in the past ruined a B&W print or two trying to spot it. It seems that the art of spotting is much negected.

Thanks and Happy Holidays,

Thomas

tgtaylor
17-Dec-2009, 12:22
Since the cloud is white, I'm thinking liquid white-off - that stuff you used to correct typewriter (remember those?) errors.

Color photography is fun. For Tuesday nights printing session I forgot to make a tank solution after I made the replenisher (800ml replenisher + 175ml H2O and 25ml of starter = 1L of tank solution). What was the result? I had to stop down to f32 to get a 10 second print time; f16 with the tank solution.

Nobody else on this forum doing traditional color printing? That's a shame. To me it looks better than inkjet - certainly different.

lenicolas
17-Dec-2009, 12:40
in black and white, i would paint the dot black on the neg, then print, and maybe grey paint the white dot resulting on the print...

I've printed color photography in school for a year.
I don't like it.
Even though i was considered good at it, i think it's too much waste of time and paper to get a result that's not any better than a lambda or inkjet print...

(and the prints lifetime is short)

Jim Michael
17-Dec-2009, 13:00