PDA

View Full Version : film question?

thart2009
12-Dec-2009, 15:30
As a newbie, I have a question... I am traveling to Tucson next week and hope to spend some time photographing. I only have two film holders and one Grafmatic back for my Graflex. Is there an effective method to store exposed negatives after they have been removed from the holders? As it stands now, I can only carry 10 4x5 sheets of film loaded and ready. Thanks for ideas! :confused: :confused: Tom

bobwysiwyg
12-Dec-2009, 15:36
Empty film boxes are a good bet, but I'm assuming you don't have any or you wouldn't be asking. Not much time to find any, perhaps a member here has some available. :confused:

Gem Singer
12-Dec-2009, 15:40
Locate an empty 4X5 three piece film box. Put the exposed film back into the three piece box. Tape it shut.

Be sure to handle the film in total darkness.

While you are in Tuscon, try to include a visit to the Center for Creative Photography, located on the campus of the University of Arizona.

thart2009
12-Dec-2009, 16:02
Ah.. I do have one empty film box (and changing bag). Thank you! And a visit to the Center for Photography is now on my list. :)

ki6mf
12-Dec-2009, 16:39
Freestyle photo sells a white cardboard mailer and black 3mm poly bag starting with 5X7. You can store exposed film safely in these bags. When i shoot a back up negative I keep the first of each N-3,-2,-1 etc in a 4x5 film box and each back up negative along with exposure notes in separate bags and mailers.

http://www.freestylephoto.biz/sc_search.php?resultpage=2&rfnc=1603&mfg=160&

Mark Sawyer
12-Dec-2009, 19:15
Cardboard film boxes aren't meant to be light-proof. The plastic or foil container inside is what protects the film. Use that in conjunction with the box, or save an 8x10 paper envelope to put the film box in.

If you use a changing bag to load film, expect dust... :(

ki6mf
12-Dec-2009, 20:52