PDA

View Full Version : Is this a good deal on a Sinar F1?

TMac
11-Dec-2009, 19:45
Hi everybody,

New here to the Large Format Photography Forum.

After using a rental 4x5 camera for a few months, I really enjoyed it and am looking to purchase one. (I'm a student at Brooks Institute)

I found a deal on Craigslist which includes a Sinar F, a rail extension, a Rodenstock 4x loupe, 5 film holders, a lens hood, cable release, and a Manfrotto tripod with a 3 way head. I talked him down from the original offer to $800.

Is this a good deal?

Wayne Crider
11-Dec-2009, 20:10
Sometimes when I'm looking to compare pricing I'll look at KEH.com and if the price is under theirs I figure that based on same condition it's a deal. But I prefer to actually see the item for sale. Most people would probably compare pricing at Ebay, but at that site you take your chances and returns while possible are iffy. There are some decent dealers, but not everyones idea of Exc. condition is the same and at KEH at least we all kind of know what we're getting, plus there's a return policy. Right now KEH has an F1 body with chrome rail advertised in Exc condition for $310. Based on the $500 difference, I think I could buy everything else but the extension rail new, or for less used, and get the stuff I really want. The tripod and the head would be of concern depending on what they are. You might Ebay price the extension rail and add up the prices. Luck

Frank Petronio
11-Dec-2009, 20:31
Yeah you can do better, that's more like $500 worth of stuff, not knowing what the tripod is but allow $100 for an older tripod.

Ron Marshall
11-Dec-2009, 21:41
What Frank said.

TMac
11-Dec-2009, 21:55
Good looking out all, I was a bit weary on the offer to begin with, but he was persistent in pursuing me to buy it.

Time to look elsewhere I guess.

The tripod is only worth about $150 used anyway.

neil poulsen
11-Dec-2009, 23:03
Yeah, I've seen these go for $250. (But, that's pretty rare.)