PDA

View Full Version : Repromaster lens @ infinity ?

Dave Dawson
11-Dec-2009, 14:44
I have just got a 135mm and 210mm Repromaster lens which I intend to mainly use for still life in a make-shift studio. I appreciate that these lens's are designed to give best performance at near 1:1 magnification and at f22 BUT I would like to try them at infinity (at least the 210mm) outdoors....What appriciable loss in image qaulity would there be using a 5x4 format?

Thanks in advance....Cheers Dave

vinny
11-Dec-2009, 14:47
I have a 210 f9 repromaster that I've used for landscapes on 4x5 and 8x10. It's very, very sharp in every situation I've come across.

Wimpler
11-Dec-2009, 15:07
Keep in mind there are different version of the 210mm f9 repromaster, which are completely different design. I'll have to take a closer look to give more details.

Most people seem to be quite happy with the performance at infinity.

Pete Watkins
11-Dec-2009, 15:21
I tried to e-mail you but you won't accept e-mails.l
Pete

Dave Dawson
11-Dec-2009, 15:32
I tried to e-mail you but you won't accept e-mails.l
Pete

If that is directed at me...Others have !

Cheers Dave

Wimpler
12-Dec-2009, 05:46
Hmm... The two lenses I own are a Repromaster 213mm f9,25 and a Repromaster 210mm f8. These are very different from eachother in construction/size/lens design (the 213mm f9,25 being much larger).

Is your lens either of these or still another?

Gene McCluney
13-Dec-2009, 11:03
Almost ALL lenses designed for 1:1 will work well at infinity, for the subjects we normally shoot at (or near) infinity distance. The main concern would be coverage. Lenses will cover a larger piece of film at 1:1 than at infinity for a given focal length.

Dan Fromm
13-Dec-2009, 13:12
Almost ALL lenses designed for 1:1 will work well at infinity, for the subjects we normally shoot at (or near) infinity distance. Why do you believe that?

Gene McCluney
14-Dec-2009, 09:26
Why do you believe that?