PDA

View Full Version : Hi from New Zealand

JRFrench
8-Dec-2009, 16:53
Hi all,

My name is James, I'm a Engineering student currently studying for my PhD and living in the central North Island.

I have recently finished (mostly) constructing a 4x5 view camera. Its based on a twin rail system and has all of the common view camera movements.

I have designed and constructed nearly every component of the camera from scratch, from the bellows to the thumbscrews to the Ground Glass, the only major component I purchased is the Caltar Symmar-S 135mm.

I've got a few sheets under my belt so far, currently just getting the hang of exposure, tray development, ground glass focussing etc. I have some c41 chems on the way so hopefully when I get my technique down I can shoot some colour landscapes, which is the main purpose I built the camera for.

From what I have seen of this community it seems to be a very friendly and helpful one, I look forward to being a (small) part of it :D

dsim
8-Dec-2009, 17:32
Welcome to the community.

Looks like you've got yourself a nice camera.

eduardtoader
8-Dec-2009, 18:23
congratulations for your jeweler skills. I wait to see some work do with it.

IanMazursky
8-Dec-2009, 20:45
Really nice work!!
How did you make it?

Michael Wynd
8-Dec-2009, 21:24
Good to see another person from NZ here.
Mike

briand
8-Dec-2009, 21:27
Hi :)
and welcome to the forum, great looking camera you've made, hope to see some pic's soon. :D

Ross Chambers
9-Dec-2009, 00:10
That's pretty, damn I wish I had a quarter your skills.

However I cannot see any number 8 fencing wire anywhere in the construction.

Are you sure that you're a Kiwi? :-)

Regards - Ross

largeformat apt
9-Dec-2009, 03:05
G'day,
And well done
Pat

Steven Tribe
9-Dec-2009, 04:24
Looks like you have access to some pretty expensive/computer controlled machine tools!

Vick Vickery
9-Dec-2009, 09:15