PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs a hand choosing.

Marc Andrew
7-Dec-2009, 09:39
Hi!

I've been a photographer for almost 15 years and would like to slow things down. I would like to find an 8x10 or larger camera for the purpose of making portraits. Contact prints only.

I'm looking for a few suggestions for cameras/lenses to be looking at. Budget is low to medium.

Thanks!
Marc

MIke Sherck
7-Dec-2009, 11:53
Monorails seem to sell for less than folding field cameras although older folding cameras like the Kodak 2D don't seem to sell for much sometimes, too. The Calumet C1 folding metal field camera is a weighty beast and so sometimes you can find one for less than if it were lighter. Of course, they are quite heavy...

Personally, were money no object I'd have a Wehman folding metal 8x10 field camera in nothing flat but, alas, money is an object. My 8x10 camera is an old Burke & James "Grover" monorail that I got for $150 and it's almost showroom new -- you don't often see them that well kept, however. But it works all right for me, even as a field camera. What I don't have in money I make up for with effort. :)