PDA

View Full Version : 8x10 Tmax packaging

Robert A. Zeichner
30-Nov-2009, 16:36
I know many of you have discussed this before, but a friend of mine sent the Kodak president an email and I thought I would share this as some of you might want to follow suit. Here goes:

"I am a professional fine arts 8x10 film user. I have for over thirty years used your fine films. About a little over a year ago you stopped packaging T-max 100 and 400 in the normal 50 sheet boxes and instead are now using 10 sheet boxes. Let me explain why this is a big mistake and I will use myself as an example. When I go on a shoot I normally take with me 100 sheets of film which in the past fit into two boxes that measured 2 5/8 inches in height.

That same 100 sheets of film which is now packaged 10 sheets per box (the same box that you used to package 25 sheets in) now measures 8 inches in height! I normally fly so I have no choice but to take the film with me as a carry on. In the past I would not only be able to carry on the film but my lenses, light meter and camera as well. But now, if I carried the ten boxes, I would have to put my lenses, light meter and camera in the hold. I never would trust this costly, fragile equipment out of my sight so what I have been doing is to repackage the ten boxes into two old 50 sheet boxes. By now I am running out of these old boxes to use as they become beat up. When you go through security and have the film X-rayed, if the boxes are sealed the security folks don't question me but if they have been opened and especially if they are old boxes they do. The last trip when I was retuning home through the L.A. airport they wanted to see what was in the opened boxes and I had a very tough time explaining what was inside and why I didn't want to open the boxes. This would not have happened if I had new sealed boxes instead of my old reused tacky boxes. Ten boxes really draw attention while two don't!