PDA

View Full Version : Underdevelop?

Sean Galbraith
19-Nov-2009, 07:04
I am very new to home developing and have a noob question.

I've heard the phrase overexpose and underdevelop. I know the overexpose part... but how do I underdevelop? Is it just a matter of doing 4.5 minutes instead of 5 minutes (or whatever)?

MIke Sherck
19-Nov-2009, 08:09
The actual "real" developing time for you may or may not be the same as the manufacturer recommends or the time others use, for a variety of reasons. There are methods of determining how the materials work best the way you use them, everything from determining the film speed of the film you use to its developing time in the developer you use. Check the front page of this site and search the forums for more information.

Now, to generally answer your question, yes, just develop the film for less time than usual. Other options would be to develop it at a colder temperature than usual, or to change agitation in some way. Shortening the developing time is the easiest but don't let the time get too short -- less than five minutes and you run the risk of having too little time to let all the variables average themselves out and getting streaks and splotches from unevenly developed film.

Bruce Watson
19-Nov-2009, 08:37
I've heard the phrase overexpose and underdevelop. I know the overexpose part... but how do I underdevelop? Is it just a matter of doing 4.5 minutes instead of 5 minutes (or whatever)?

IMHO, the "correct" phrase is: "Expose for the shadows and develop for the highlights."

The most pertinent question then is how to accomplish this? And for that, the Zone System (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zone_system) was invented, codified, and taught. The Zone System is a complex way to describe what turns out to be a fairly simple practice to implement. But without the understanding that the complex description imparts, the practice is often fraught with unnecessary mystery.