PDA

View Full Version : will this work for me..?

Frank_E
12-Nov-2009, 16:11
I have a Nagaoka 4x5 field camera. If you don't know what it looks like, I guess it can be described as a "poor man's" Tachihara, except the Tachihara is more solid and has more movements.

My question is relating to getting a 90mm lens for this camera. I realize that some recommend a Schneider Angulon because it is light and if you get a Linhof select probably has good optics. But I am concerned about the limited image circle. I like to get foreground into my wide angle shots, so I think I would like to get better coverage allowing some movements.

The logical alternate choice would be something like a 90mm f8 Super Angulon or other f8 equivalent. My concern is the challenge of focusing a dim f8 lens. I am new to LF.

So my question is, would one of the larger "wasp shaped" 90mm lenses with a larger aperture such as 5.6 or 6.8 fit on my camera. I know one of those lenses would be bigger and heavier and would not fold into the camera. However I am wondering whether a light camera like this could support one of those larger lenses.

Thanks for you input.

Gem Singer
12-Nov-2009, 16:53
Look for an f8 Super Angulon or a Nikkor f8 90 SW. They are lighter weight and throw larger image circles.

For a brighter ground glass image, add a brightening screen (Fresnel) and use a good quality loupe.

Those larger and faster 90's are large and heavy lenses and probably will put a strain on your camera's front standard

Oren Grad
12-Nov-2009, 17:05
The 90mm f/6.8 Grandagon-N / Caltar II-N weighs about a pound and is a very comfortable fit to a Tachihara or Nagaoka. My Nagaoka has never complained about it. ;)

Allen in Montreal
12-Nov-2009, 21:53
I have a Nagaoka 4x5 field camera. If you don't know what it looks like, I guess it can be described as a "poor man's" Tachihara, except the Tachihara is more solid and has more movements..........

Not at all the poor man's anything.