PDA

View Full Version : help in making complete set of 4 X 5 camera

JV photo
9-Nov-2009, 00:55
Greetings,

i am new to 4 X 5 system. i have never used 4 X 5 in past.

i am planning to buy silvestri S4( S4 Camera Body with 4x5” Back) for shooting landscape. need help in buying basic tools which will complete this unit,

i am also told that i can use sinar f2 and P2 lenses on S4, do i need any attachment for it??

your help will be appreciated.

Regards

JV

JV photo
18-Nov-2009, 22:47
Please help

Vaughn
18-Nov-2009, 23:45
Hello!

Very interesting first 4x5! A very beautiful camera in its own way. I like the flexibellow option...seems it would allow for more creative options.

It seems to be a bit of a specialty camera -- mostly shorter focal lengths. The manual for it mentions lenses only up to 135mm. Normally I would suggest a camera that would be more adaptable to many uses, such as an Ebony wood field 4x5 (folding or non-folding)...being able to use longer (150 to 300mm) lenses is nice when photographing landscape. But perhaps you prefer only the wider angled compositions.

From the manual for the Silvestri, you will need spacers for both the back of the camera and to hold the lens for each lens you have (some might double up for different lenses.) Here is the list of lenses it can use, and the adapters/spacers needed...

http://www.silvestricamera.it/tabelle_pop_up/table_s4.htm

So, once you got the camera body, a lens and a lensboard for it, you got a few things to put on your shopping list.

Tripod, darkcloth (or eqivilent), light meter (spot?), film holders (4x5 sheet, roll backs, Fuji instant film and/or ready loads), filters, cable release, ideas, creativity, etc. And maybe a pack to put it all in. Film, of course. Some odds and ends...stuff/tools for small field repairs, a small brush to clean off film holders before use. Don't worry if you don't fill your pack all the way...eventually you will. So the bigger the pack, the more one ends up carrying.