PDA

View Full Version : What am I doing wrong?

csant
3-Nov-2009, 15:20
I have been shooting medium format for years. I moved up into 4x5 and then 5x7 a few years ago, and have been shooting quite a lot, with a few different lenses, both modern and historical. And then some time not too long ago… I fell for the temptation and moved up to 8x10… Some of the lenses I have been using for 5x7 work for the larger format, too, and some are only for the big thing.

I have never had any issues with exposure, I use a spot meter and mainly expose "manually", with a lens cap. Exposure works fairly accurately (I am a musician, it's easy to measure 1/4er, 1/5th or even 1/10th of a second ;) ) - or at least, I have never had any exposure problems… until I started using 8x10. Virtually all of my 8x10 negatives are underexposed. I started compensating for bellows extension much more consciously than for the "smaller" 5x7 and 4x5, I am paying special attention to exposure, development happens exactly the same way as the other sheets… And yet, I seem to be always on the low end. :confused:

What am I doing wrong? Is 8x10 *that* much more sensitive to bellows extension? Are lenses with long focal length that claim to have a certain aperture to be treated differently than shorter focal lengths with the same aperture? Are large negatives a different beast altogether than smaller ones? Is light metering for an 8x10 negative to be treated differently than for smaller negatives? Any hints, suggestions or shared experiences are welcome.

claudio

Gary Beasley
3-Nov-2009, 17:40
You may be running into reciprocity problems. Best thing would be to do a Zone system style calibration on the camera, lens and film system you are using.

Stefan Findel
3-Nov-2009, 18:56