PDA

View Full Version : Loupe with glasses

Sean Galbraith
2-Nov-2009, 15:06
I wear prescription glasses (-4.00). Does this change which loupe I should get? (I've never used one before)

kub
2-Nov-2009, 15:27
I have the prescription and use a 4x loop happily. Anything between 4x 6x should do. I prefer is 4x, anything more you just see more the grit on gg.

Gem Singer
2-Nov-2009, 15:28
Just make sure the loupe that you purchase has an adjustable diopter setting.

Most high end loupes have this feature.

We encountered a similar problem last Sat. My friend forgot his glasses and we had to readjust his focusing loupe to match his eyesight.

His loupe had been adjusted to match his prescription glasses.

He could then see to focus, but still had difficulty composing on the ground glass without his glasses.

Emmanuel BIGLER
3-Nov-2009, 05:59
Being myself short-sighted I would recommend a loupe with a large exit lens element (eyepiece) so that you can use it either with glasses on or without.
Many loupes have an eyepiece with a small diameter, in this case with your glasses on, you'll loose some image field.
Suffering from astigmatism as well as being short-sighted I keep my glasses on for focusing, so some viewfinder or loupes are almost useless to me if I use too much of the available field.

And I would second Gem's advice, prefer a loupe with adjustable diopter setting, so that you can use it either with your glasses on or not.

Warren Clark
3-Nov-2009, 06:49
Sean,
My optometrist-who is also a LF photographer- recently made me an
excellent pair of flip down magnifiers for ground glass focusing. They
have a high quality lightweight titanium frame and have quickly become
one of my valued and usable accessories.

Warren Clark
Ft. Collins, Colo.

Sean Galbraith
3-Nov-2009, 06:53
Warren: Can you post a photo of them?