PDA

View Full Version : The relationship between focal lengh and tilt/swing???

mortensen
26-Oct-2009, 15:37
Hi everyone

Because of my lack of patience searching this fantastic forum (sorry), I dare asking this - probably very simple - question:

What is the relationship between focal lenght and the amount of tilt/swing needed?

I am quite new to LF and I use a chamonix 45n-1 with a Rodenstock 90mm and a Caltar 210mm. I find, that I need to swing the lens more with the 210 than the 90 in order to obtain the 'same' bending of the focus plane. We are probably in league of 'basics I ought to know', but if any of you know of an old thread or have the time to explain, I would greatly appreciate it.

/lars

Jim Michael
26-Oct-2009, 16:18
Well, for a 1:1 reproduction of an object on the ground glass you'll have the lens about 2x the focal length of the lens. An object at great distance ("infinity") will be focussed at the lens' focal length. That should give you an intuitive feel for what you're observing.

Gem Singer
26-Oct-2009, 16:35
You answered your own question.

It seems that you have already discovered that you need to use a greater degree of swing (tilt) with a longer focal length (210) lens than you need to use with a shorter focal length (90) lens in order to extend the plane of focus.

Wide angle lenses need less swing or tilt in order to achieve near-far focusing.

Swing is merely the horizontal version of tilt.

mortensen
26-Oct-2009, 23:37
thanks, both of you. Your explanation, Jim, really gives the point - it must be an almost exponential relationship.

What confused me, was the fact that I only need to tilt the 90 a couple of degrees to give some amount of near-far-focusing. Anyway, I'd better trust my eyes...

/lars

Jeff Keller
26-Oct-2009, 23:47
Adding to Jim's comment, think of the Scheimpflug principle. If the only change is greater focal length, there has to be greater tilt to keep the intersection of the three planes.