PDA

View Full Version : First camera - Film holder questions from a noob.

Sean Galbraith
26-Oct-2009, 08:07
Hi all,

I have just bought my first large format camera, a Crown Graphic. I (think) I got a good deal on it, and intend to use it to further my addiction and learn more about the format (and likely learn how to process B&W negs, which I've never done before).

I'm thinking about using a mix of ready/quick loads (in addition to regular film holders) and have questions about them...

What's the difference between a 545 and 545i holder?
Can I use Fuji Quickloads and Kodak Readyloads (that might be backwards... i forget) in the same holder, or do they each take a different kind? Can the same holders be used for Type55 (I have a couple packs of that, though, have no idea how to use it yet). Also, what holders work for Fuji FP pack film (other than fuji branded ones)?

Thanks,
total noob.

Robert Hughes
26-Oct-2009, 08:09
From what I've read recently, I would not buy a Polaroid 545 or 545i holder. The Fuji Quickloads supposedly do not fit either. There is another thread around here discussing the Fuji Quickload.

Steve Hamley
26-Oct-2009, 08:34
Sean,

Welcome to the large format world.

The Polaroid holder will take Polaroid film, Kodak Readyloads, and Fuji Quickloads. However, all Kodak and Polaroid packet film has been discontinued almost a year ago. Fuji Acros (B&W negative film) has been discontinued in the US in Quickloads, so if you want to to do B&W, you'll need some regular film and holders.

The late Kodak Readyload holder with the red release button and black pressure plate will handle both Kodak and Fuji packet film.

The Fuji holder, IMO will only consistently handle Fuji film packets.

Cheers, steve

Bob Sawin
26-Oct-2009, 13:18
Sean,

I beleive Kodak has ceased production of all Readi-Load film packs and Fuji has ceased import of Acros Quick-Loads into the U.S.. For now Fuji is still importing some color Quick-Load packs.