PDA

View Full Version : Using RB67 lenses on 4x5?

kurtdriver
15-Oct-2009, 17:36
I'm hoping to use my existing lenses on my new (to me) Super Cambo. Two questions arise, how do I mount them, is a new lensboard required? If so I should probably just buy a 4x5 lens. I'm a student again, and could definitely save a couple bucks, which is why I want to use the lenses I already have. Would these lenses have proper coverage for the larger format? Someone has done this, I'm certain. Thanks, Kurt

Daniel_Buck
15-Oct-2009, 17:38
I doubt they would cover?

erie patsellis
15-Oct-2009, 18:29
90 and up cover, somewhat. Depends on your definition of cover, do you want a gazillion line pairs/mm all the way to the house next door? Or will a slight softening at the very edges be acceptable?

Turner Reich
15-Oct-2009, 22:40
They wouldn't cover completely but somewhere on the web someone put the front end of an RB on a view camera, it gave focusing. Kinda weird but it worked, I think they got 6x8 or 9 out of it.

erie patsellis
16-Oct-2009, 06:50
still using 6x7 backs, and using the rotating adapter as well, or you can use the 4x5 back. I assume you're referring to my Toyo/RB hybrid:

http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r181/epatsellis/DSCF7015.jpg

rdenney
16-Oct-2009, 06:56
They wouldn't cover completely but somewhere on the web someone put the front end of an RB on a view camera, it gave focusing. Kinda weird but it worked, I think they got 6x8 or 9 out of it.

Yeah, couple it with a 6x7 holder and you have a camera that has limited movements.

Ultimately, though, I think it will a frustrating exercise. Large-format lenses of exceptional quality are so cheap now that it's not really worth a bit effort to cobble something else together. One might more easily fabricate the bits needed to provide a shift capability on the front of a real RB67.

Rick "who paid less for a 47/5.6 Super Angulon than for a 45mm SMC Pentax 67" Denney

kurtdriver
16-Oct-2009, 18:13