PDA

View Full Version : where do you purchase very small screws????

Frank_E
13-Oct-2009, 12:48
Today I received my $29 large format lens and was pleasantly surprised.

Backing up a little. I am new to LF photography (as you can see from my post count). Have acquired a Nagaoka 4x5 field camera which was fitted with a 135mm Graflex Optar lens. I read that the coverage of this lens doesn’t leave much room for movements. Also thought it would be interesting to see if I can acquire another reasonably priced LF lens to experiment with and was successful with this ebay bid:

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140349176239&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT#ht_607wt_1167

It is an ILEX Paragon Anstigmat f4.5 165mm/6.5” in an ILEX no.3 Universal shutter.

The lens looks nice and clean and the shutter and iris work well.

My challenge is that the lens does not have the traditional “retaining ring” mounting arrangement. There are 3 very small threaded holes in the back of the lens which appear to be the mechanism used for mounting the lens. The holes are about 1mm in diameter. I have no idea what the thread would be.

Where does one find small screws like this. It is definitely not a Home Deport purchase….

Thanks

Robert Hughes
13-Oct-2009, 12:54
Check with jewelry suppliers, watch shops, scientific instrumentation suppliers... or maybe a camera shop. Who knows, you might even find someone there who remembers what a film camera is!

Jim Rice
13-Oct-2009, 12:55
Hardware store.

Len Middleton
13-Oct-2009, 13:00
Frank,

Are you saying there is no threaded section on the back of the shutter barrel for a retaining ring? I expect that your Optar would have a retaining ring that you could see as an example.

If would expect to hold that sort of weight mounted on the front of the lensboard, you would either need a retaining ring or some sort of clamping arrangement that would hold onto the shutter barrel.