PDA

View Full Version : Need some help.

annetteovrelid
2-Oct-2009, 02:55
Hi.

I am new to with the large format camera, and just bought a Horseman 4x5. The thing is that I have no idea about wich lenses I can use with it. So I bought a

Tessar 210/4.5 large format Carl Zeiss lens

but I do not know if this is the right type og lense, of what copal size lensboard this will work with. Does anyone have any information they could provide me with?

Thanks.

Best Regards
Annette

Sevo
2-Oct-2009, 03:32
If it has a shutter: Which one? The lens board bore depends on the shutter type.

If it has no shutter (barrel mount): What Tessar is it? A GDR Zeiss Jena is most likely, as there are heaps of them around. IIRC these need a Compound IV and a entire new fitting, as it wasn't cell-assembled, but the elements are directly fit into the barrel - do expect 200-300€ for a shutter and rebuilding. Earlier (uncoated) or Oberkochen (expensive) 210mm Tessars are cell-type and directly fit a Compound III - there you'd only need a shutter, but even that will usually be more expensive than a decent 2nd hand Plasmat type lens, which would be more generally useful.

These Tessars are nice portrait lenses, but not exactly the first general purpose lens you will want to have along with a Horseman 4x5 - do yourself a favour and pick up a 150mm Symmar-S/Nikkor-W or the like.

annetteovrelid
2-Oct-2009, 03:59
Thanks for advice. A like would that be something as RODENSTOCK RODAGON 150MM 5.6

Len Middleton
2-Oct-2009, 04:22
Annette,

The Rodagon is an enlarging lens, and typically barrel mounted (i.e. not mounted in a shutter). As well as enlarging, they would be good for macro work, but as mentioned above a good plasmat (Symmar, Sironar, Nikkor W, G-Claron) would be better for general purpose.