PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone have a composing template design they would share?

newmoon2night
29-Sep-2009, 22:52
To help composing shots before setting up the camera, I've wondered about putting together simple lightweight frames to be held 2" (half a hand's width) from the eye or something. One frame for each lens (58mm, 72mm, 110mm and 150mm say). Something that's easy to put in the pocket if going for a walk or whatever.
I'm sure loads of people must have done this - has anyone got a design that they think is great, and they're happy to share?
Is the above a reasonable design, or is there a much better option?
I'm not an engineer, and nor am I well up on lens and optical science, so any advice appreciated!
Thanks. David

IanG
29-Sep-2009, 23:16
Think more logically, the wire frame finder on old press camera's works well when you squint through the back sight (with lens focussed) the distance of the frame changes with angle of view of the lens.

So one bit of card frame would work, distance from your eye emulates the different focal lenghts.

In practice you quickly learn to ompose mentally with no aid.

Ian

Steve Barber
29-Sep-2009, 23:21
Just a 4 x 5 inch piece of matboard with a 2 x 2.5 inch rectangle cut out of the center. Attach a string with a knot to mark the distance to hold it away from your eye for each lens that you want.

ki6mf
30-Sep-2009, 04:18
and lengthen or shorten the string by half the distance or twice the distance and you have a wide angle on long lens template. I have seen a commercial version on the larger camera web sites too.

jim kitchen
30-Sep-2009, 11:50
I use an 8X10 "8ply matte board" with a 4X5 hole cut out in the middle, white on one side and black on the other... :)

I have used the same board for more than 30+ years, and I have chased it in the wind more times than I care to remember. I think I should replace it. The black side is always pointed to my eyes.