PDA

View Full Version : Portrait Lens Recommendation Needed

Pawlowski6132
29-Sep-2009, 17:58
I am a portrait photographer usually shooting 35mm and MF. Got a deal on a Calumet 4x5 and now want to give it a go.

I have a Schneider 210mm but was wondering what the generally agreed upon focal length is for H&S portraits.

Also, can I assume that all lenses will mount to my 4x4 lensboard and work with my camera?

thanx in advance,

Joe
South Bend

Toyon
29-Sep-2009, 18:08
It is really a matter of personal taste. You'll get all kinds of opinions on this, already stated in previous threads. But that is an excellent lens to experiment with. Remember that large format gives you the freedom to crop images and still get superb resolution.

Ron Marshall
29-Sep-2009, 18:22
210 is great for 1/2 or even full body, but for H&S I prefer a 300mm.

Of course you will get answers from 180 to 360 to this.

Pawlowski6132
29-Sep-2009, 18:24
It is really a matter of personal taste. You'll get all kinds of opinions on this, already stated in previous threads. But that is an excellent lens to experiment with. Remember that large format gives you the freedom to crop images and still get superb resolution.

Thanx! Good point.

As I think about this more, I can probably figure the lens focal length part out by doing a little research. For example. On my 35mm I realy like 135mm to 200mm. There's probably some mathematical conversion table out there I can find.

The part of my question though...once I determine which length, can I assume that any lens will mount on my board? Are these all standard sizes or will I be dealing with proprietary mount sizes?

Also, one more question to show my ignorance; My 35mm and MF portraits lenses have HUGE apertures (e.g, f1.2) for great brokeh and shallow DOF. I notice that most LF lenses dont have apertures that wide. There must be a good reason. Probably the equation to determine aperture and the dimensions of the lens?