PDA

View Full Version : where to get 4x5 film in Toronto?

Frank_E
26-Sep-2009, 06:35
I'm new to LF (this is my second post) where can you get B&W 4x5 film in Toronto
thanks

Jacques-Mtl
26-Sep-2009, 06:41
You can get some at Canada's BigCameraWorkshops.com in Burlington, ON 905-335-6031

bobwysiwyg
26-Sep-2009, 06:46
Found this also, a little digging indicates they claim to carry sheet film.

http://www.vistek.ca/about/contact.aspx

Jacques-Mtl
26-Sep-2009, 06:54
You're right they hame some. I live in Montreal and there is at least for now 2 places. Lozeau and Photo Service. Otherwise I order (Ilford FP4+) from Freestyle in California.

bob carnie
26-Sep-2009, 07:05
If you can wait a couple of days Mike Chan at Eight Elm can get 4x5 film, he usually has stock.

I'm new to LF (this is my second post) where can you get B&W 4x5 film in Toronto
thanks

Frank_E
26-Sep-2009, 11:35
Thanks, for the tips
I gave 8 Elm a call and they do have some B&W in stock
will drop by on Monday

since I now have the floor....
can I ask if there are any Toronto based LF photographers that I can spend some time with on the phone getting some other "newbie" questions answered

if you are so inclined can you send me a PM with either your email or phone number so that I can contact you

I made this request for help on my introductory post several days ago
in the "Introduce yourself" section
but so far no Toronto photographer has materialized

thanks

r.e.
26-Sep-2009, 17:27
Especially because you are new to 4x5, I'm going to make a couple of observations.

Availability of 4x5 film in Toronto is very limited both in terms of type and available stock, and you should not assume that if Vistek has certain 4x5 film listed on its web site, that they have it on hand. It can take them a week to get it. The same goes for Henry's.