PDA

View Full Version : 8x10 drum development for poor people?

Waldo
19-Sep-2009, 13:36
Hello all. I'm just getting into 8x10 photography. I'm thinking that I would like to use a drum for my film but the only problem is that I am quite poor and can't afford one of the $499 Jobo film drums. I can however swing the price for the print drum and I do have a single print drum laying around the house somewhere. I am wondering if it's possible to use either of those. Are there any concerns other than getting the emulsion on the right side? Can this be done or am I stuck with trays or the big beastly 3.5 gal tank?

Thanks all and sorry if this has been asked many times before. I am either too lazy or just cant find what I'm looking for.

vinny
19-Sep-2009, 13:45
I've done it with beseler print drums and it works but I get scratches sometimes when inserting or removing the film due to the roughness of the drum surfaces. Of course you can only do 1 sheet at a time and that sucks. Before that I used hangers in homemade tanks which range from 1.5 to 4 inches wide that hold only a couple hangers and very little chemistry. Black 1/4" ABS and a table saw are all you need to make those.

ic-racer
19-Sep-2009, 13:47
This thread may have some info you can use. http://www.apug.org/forums/forum37/64303-jobo-8x10-expert-drum-vs-jobo-2850-8x10-negatives.html

Rick Olson
19-Sep-2009, 13:48
Waldo,

Some of those taller Patterson light-tight tanks might work also. I use one to develop my 5 x 7 with EMA processing.

Rick

Steven Tribe
19-Sep-2009, 13:54