PDA

View Full Version : Rinsing, drying sheet film

BetterSense
14-Sep-2009, 19:59
I've been doing roll film for a long time, but I just started shooting 4x5 film. I don't know what is normal, because I'm learning myself how to do all this sheet film stuff.

So far I've just developed my film individually in the same 8x10 trays I use for prints. At 6-10 minutes per sheet this means a lot of standing around in the dark. I have heard that people stack sheets up and shuffle them from the bottom to the top, but I don't think I could do that in the dark without scratching them with the corners and I don't understand how agitation is supposed to work when the sheets are all stuck together.

After fixing I rinse them individually in a thousand little dishes, again because I'm afraid of putting them in one dish together, and then I dip them in photoflo and then hang them up by the corner with binder clips. When the solution is running off, I notice a lot of what could be little bits of crud on the negatives leaving streaks as it runs off. Or, it could be micro-bubbles. I think it's micro-bubbles because the negs have turned out ok.

How do drum processors work, and how many sheets fit inside them?

John Kasaian
14-Sep-2009, 20:31
See Greywolf Phillips article linked to the LF Home Page on the blue banner above. A Unicolor will handle four 4x5 sheets at a time and costs a pittance compared to a Jobo.
For washing your film you could just leave the top off the barrel and run it under the faucet, dumping the water out and refilling a dozen or so times (if you're not on a water meter!)

ic-racer
14-Sep-2009, 20:33
With a drum your rinsing and drying may not change. Personally I get good results rinsing in the drum, but some film won't clear on the back all the way when rinsed in various drums, therefore some require out-of-drum rinsing.

The popular Jobo 3010 drum holds 10 4x5 negatives.

Larry Gebhardt
15-Sep-2009, 06:56