PDA

View Full Version : Help identifying light leak (images included)

Rhemz
6-Sep-2009, 11:43
Hey guys,

I'll start off by saying i'm very new to large format photography. I've shot digital for about 7 years and decided to give LF a go a few months ago. I assembled a modest setup consisting of a Tachihara 4x5, a Rodenstock 90mm 6.8 & a Schneider 150mm 5.6. I took went on vacation to Cape Cod a few weeks back and took it as an opportunity to spend some serious time getting acquainted with the view camera.

I took 12 exposures (velvia 50) while I was there, and got them developed last week at a local shop. Unfortunately, it appears i've got a serious light-leak somewhere and every exposure came out with similar burn marks. The guy at the shop seemed knowledgeable and said it looked like a leak in the bellows, probably towards the back of the camera; I found that peculiar as the Tachi is new, and i've spent the better part of an hour checking it in my dark room with a flashlight to no avail. I'm using Fidelity Elite and Fidelity Custom film holders, and the burns are of similar shape and location regardless of which holder I used, which makes me think it's not a leak in the holder.

This, combined with the consistent shape/position of the burn mark(s) makes me think the leak may be coming from either
A) where the back attaches to the camera body, or
B) the contact between the film holder and the camera back.
I'm currently leaning towards B, as it's contact between a ridged plastic surface and glossy cherrywood.