PDA

View Full Version : make copal 1 lens board from copal 3

speedtrials
26-Aug-2009, 10:48
Hey guys,
First let me apologize if this is already answered somewhere, as I wasn't sure exactly what to search. I have a Kodak Master view lens board drilled for copal 3. I sold my copal 3 lens and am getting a (lighter) copal 1 lens to replace it. I only have the one lens board and getting another one is pretty pricey so I was thinking I could modify the lens board (in a non-permanent way) to take a copal 1 lens. I don't have a workshop to fabricate my own lensboard so I thought the simplest thing would be to drill a piece of plywood for copal 1 and just attach it to the lens board with some white glue or some double sided tape. I think if I decide to go back to copal 3, I could undo this. I am only going to have the one lens and its pretty unlikely that I'll get another so I only need one lens board. But maybe there is a better way to do it that you guys know of? The lens I'm going to be attaching is pretty light (something like a fuji C 300mm which is 250g or a 305mm g-claron which is 460g) so it seems doable to me. What do you guys think? Is there a better way to cobble this together?
Thanks,
Nick

jb7
26-Aug-2009, 11:19
Cobbling is good...

If you have a large enough overlap, you could use black silicone-
this is non permanent, if you need to remove it you could slice through the junction with a blade-

Residue should be easily removable-

Just check it periodically to make sure it's still stuck-
it doesn't like sticking to some bare timbers,
so a coat of varnish or paint might be good-

Vick Vickery
26-Aug-2009, 11:36
I've done this many times, pretty much as Joseph describes it. I like the black silicone because I feel that it does away with any possible lignt leaks; be sure to paint be back of the new section of board flat black. Oh, by the way, the 1/8" plywood you find at hobby shops is good for this.

MIke Sherck
26-Aug-2009, 13:22