PDA

View Full Version : Moisture-proofing LF camera?

eosslr
16-Aug-2009, 12:33
Hi folks,
I'm totally new to LF cameras, so please bear with me. I'm considering purchasing my first 4x5 field view (narrowed down the choice to toyo 45cf and horseman 45fa, because weight and durability are quite important for me). However, I hit a wall trying to figure out how to make either of these waterproof, well, ok not waterproof since I'm not gonna be diving with the camera, but moistureproof. I'll be traveling to Peru in December and will hit the Amazon and Andes areas for a few days. Well, it's wet season there and I do expect that I might end up shooting under light rain. Plus the area by itself is quite humid. Is is possible to seal a LF camera, film etc? Or should I stick to my weatherproof D3+14-24/2.8? Side note - I'm not a pro, it's just a hobby, so I can't really justify spending too much money here... Thanks for your advice in advance...

Joanna Carter
16-Aug-2009, 12:42
I'm totally new to LF cameras, so please bear with me. I'm considering purchasing my first 4x5 field view (narrowed down the choice to toyo 45cf and horseman 45fa, because weight and durability are quite important for me). However, I hit a wall trying to figure out how to make either of these waterproof, well, ok not waterproof since I'm not gonna be diving with the camera, but moistureproof. I'll be traveling to Peru in December and will hit the Amazon and Andes areas for a few days.
Well, I would recommend a Walker camera http://www.walkercameras.com/cameras.html; it is made from an engineering grade of ABS and the mouldings can withstand being immersed in boiling wter with no detriment. So you shouldn't get any warping or other distortion in the frame, the only thing that may need care is the bellows which may require the odd wipe with a dry cloth.

Warren Clark
16-Aug-2009, 13:55
Hi eos,

Another vote for the Walker 4x5 (other formats available). I bought mine